• Notice for iPhone users: DO NOT use the image size reduction option when uploading photos to the forum. This causes portrait images to post as landscape. We have added a warning to the image insert pop-up as well.

BigRed's Scrambler build

B

bigred1969

I have been working on the 83 for off and on for about 1 1/2 years now. Finally going to put it in a thread. Started with and 83, 6 cyl., auto, the tranny was slipping and engine was missing when I brought it home. It came from central Indiana and has the normal body rust damage, the frame is solid, bed floor is solid. It will need side panels and rear 1/4s, and of course windshield frame. Missing a top and bulkhead.
IMG_2156-1.jpg

015-1.jpg

B

bigred1969

First project was to replace missing drivers' side window and replaced the door handles. While I had them laid out, I sanded the doors down and primed them. Also bought a 1/2 top and bulkhead.
043-1.jpg

The 6 cyl/999 both needed to be rebuilt, I found a deal on a 40,000 mile 360/727 from an 82 waggy. So I started to tear it down. I have built several Jeeps through the years but never did a drivetrain swap, so this is going to be learn as you go.
0192-1.jpg

0341-1.jpg

B

bigred1969

While I have to motor out of the way, going to start on the front section of the frame. It had been undercoated and 26 years of grease and oil all over it. I cleaned it all, sanded it down to bare metal. Then used Eastwood rust converter, rust encapsulator and undercarriage top coat. I brushed on the converter and encapsulator, then sprayed the top coat. I am very happy with the results, it turned out very good, the paint is so smooth it looks like a powder coat. Which says alot since I have never been a very good painter, but working on getting better. Just waiting to see how it will hold up once it gets in the weather.
009-1.jpg

results on front of frame
0522-1.jpg

0012-1.jpg

B

bigred1969