• Notice for iPhone users: DO NOT use the image size reduction option when uploading photos to the forum. This causes portrait images to post as landscape. We have added a warning to the image insert pop-up as well.

4 cyl iron Duke to 6 cyl swap?

Quixote Kid

City
Terlingua
State
TX
Hey all, I’ve been enjoying driving my ‘81 Scrambler for several months now. My only real complaint with it (at this time) is that I have a significant elevation change in my drive home. About a 2,000’ climb. Going to work I can manage 65 mph all day long...dropping 2,000’. Haha. But the climb home is rough. Maybe 50-55 mph with it floored in places. If I have a headwind I’m really getting the people behind me mad. (70mph posted)

My question is, how hard is it to swap out a 6 cyl for my 4 cyl Iron Duke? Can I keep my transmission?

Thanks
Brad

walkerhoundvm

Just trying to stay upright
Lifetime Member
City
Cave Creek
State
AZ
It's not too difficult, but I wouldn't be convinced it would help all that much. Maybe a little, but you would probably also want to consider a different transmission and axle regearing. It's the nature of trying to make improvements - you look to do one thing, but it takes upgrading three other things to get there. I won't even go into a V8 conversion, you'd really lose your mind then.

Dave The Sparky

Rebuilding my CJ8 very,very slowly...
City
Halifax
State
UK
Dont think it will bolt straight up as the bell housing mounted on the gearbox will have the Chevy pattern for the Iron Duke and not the AMC pattern so that would need swapping out.

ag4ever

Average Nut
BENEFACTOR
Gold Member
Silver Member
Lifetime Member
SOA Member
City
Richmond
State
TX
Easiest swap would be a mild carb'd chevy v8. Mostly due to the bell housing as Dave mentioned.

Keep it reasonable and the stock trans should survive just fine.

Quixote Kid

City
Terlingua
State
TX