• Notice for iPhone users: DO NOT use the image size reduction option when uploading photos to the forum. This causes portrait images to post as landscape. We have added a warning to the image insert pop-up as well.

Another truck thread. What about the new Canyon as a tow vehicle?

cdvcj8

It's Not My Scrambler
Lifetime Member
City
West Friendship
State
MD
Okay, I'm not ready to jump yet, but I want to have an idea if I have to decide suddenly and I sure would appreciate some advice from the experienced tow jockeys here :thumbsup:

I looking at the new Colorado mid-size truck. Besides being a semi-occasional driver, I'd like to be able to tow the Scrambler and my TT after I (someday) convert it to a track day car. I believe the Colorado is spec'd at 7000 lbs. I've towed small things, but never anything as big as the Scrambler. Will this be more than sufficient?

FYI, I'm trying to stay away from the full size to make it more comfortable to park and for occasional times where my wife drives it.

LetchcoreCJ7

Legacy Registered User
City
Nashville
State
TN
Well if you figure a 2000lb trailer and a 4000lb scrambler plus gear that will put you really close to the 7000. If it's for short pulls and not in the mountains you may be alright. Long hauls with hills I wouldn't consider anything but a 1/2 ton.

YJ_Aaron

Basic User
City
Ozark
State
MO
Do your research on the in line cylinder heads on those engines. They get the same mileage as 1/2 ton, but I know you said size was more of a concern.

don87401

Original Owner
BENEFACTOR
Gold Member
Lifetime Member
SOA Member
City
Farmington
State
NM