Can't turn left!

LSUtiger

Legacy Registered User
City
Monroe
State
LA
Ok, I'm officially stumped.

I've been redoing my 81 for a couple years now. 350/Dana 44/hydro-boost brakes, yadda yadda yadda.....

Anyway, she doesn't wanna turn left unless the front axle is off the ground. Power steering works fine to the right. Power steering works fine to the left until the wheels are straight, then no more power steering beyond that. Manual steering still work..... nothing binding etc..

I just replaced the steering box and some of the hoses, but end result was the same. I have another jeep w hydro boost brakes, so I copied how the hoses are run. Brakes are fine btw. I figured it wasn't the pump because seems like if the pump was bad, then the power brake assist wouldn't work AND it wouldn't have power steering to the right.

Anybody got any ideas?

jammer1

Scrambler Junkie
LIFETIME
CJ-8.com Member
City
Maple Hts.
State
Oh
Almost sounds live a valve is plugged or not working. Lets fluid go one way but beyond straight it doesn't allow (the assist from the fluid) to go to the left. This ought to be interesting (and frustrating).

jammer1

Scrambler Junkie
LIFETIME
CJ-8.com Member
City
Maple Hts.
State
Oh
I wondered that, but then he wouldn't be able to turn left with wheels off ground or hard like manual steering.

LSUtiger

Legacy Registered User
City
Monroe
State
LA
With wheels straight, pitman arm is damn near pointed straight rearward.

With front end jacked up, all is good. Just no assist to the left after jeep is put back on the ground. I'm gonna check the belt n make sure it's tight, then a new ps pump I guess? Unless u guys have a better idea.

LSUtiger

Legacy Registered User
City
Monroe
State
LA
I'm not 100% sure about that. I've turned the wheel bk n forth a gajillion times and kept adding fluid. Don't see any leaks yet. I do have tiny bubbles still tho. I will try again tomorrow.

LSUtiger

Legacy Registered User
City
Monroe
State
LA