• Notice for iPhone users: DO NOT use the image size reduction option when uploading photos to the forum. This causes portrait images to post as landscape. We have added a warning to the image insert pop-up as well.

Classic Enterprises panel lip?

jc_chandler

City
Denver
State
CO
So I'm getting everything back from the blaster on Friday and I went ahead and ordered the panels from Classic that I already know I need, namely the ones under the roll bar mounts. I'm an ok welder but this will be my first crack at auto body sheet metal patching. My question is, do I leave the folded over lip on the panels or cut them off? That might be a dumb question but I just want to make sure I approach this the right way.

certifiablejeep

Definitley Certifiable
Lifetime Member
City
Bedford
State
NH
Nothing from CE should need to be cut off... pictures of what you are trying to do?

20160215_140606.jpg

Is it this panel?

If so, you need those folded edges for structure and support to the next panels... so you can spot weld them together.

cb

certifiablejeep

Definitley Certifiable
Lifetime Member
City
Bedford
State
NH
BTW... each one of those 4 panels goes in a specific spot, so make sure you are putting them in the correct place and orientation so the bead rolls are the right way so you can get the roll bar back in.

cb

certifiablejeep

Definitley Certifiable
Lifetime Member
City
Bedford
State
NH
I can't find a pic of all 4... but this shows 2 of them in place and how the bead rolls are...

20160214_153126.jpg

cb

jc_chandler

City
Denver
State
CO
Wow! Amazing work. For those corner bed pieces, are the spot welds all that's needed or should I do that and then weld the seams from the top?

certifiablejeep

Definitley Certifiable
Lifetime Member
City
Bedford
State
NH