• Notice for iPhone users: DO NOT use the image size reduction option when uploading photos to the forum. This causes portrait images to post as landscape. We have added a warning to the image insert pop-up as well.

Frame replacement

Psully

Basic User
BENEFACTOR
Lifetime Member
City
Port Jefferson
State
NY
I have been working on my 83 for 5 years. I am thinking about replacing the frame. Any one have any recommendations for replacement.

gr8dain

Old and Slow
BENEFACTOR
Gold Member
Lifetime Member
SOA Member
City
Ashburn
State
VA
I replaced mine about 6 years ago. I was looking at the TFK ones, but found a couple on craiglist and licked out with finding one only a few hours away. I was honestly looking for one for about 9 months though. Almost pulled the trigger on a TDK. They look really nice.

ag4ever

Average Nut
BENEFACTOR
Gold Member
Silver Member
Lifetime Member
SOA Member
City
Richmond
State
TX
I bought a replacement for my ’82. I found it on Craigslist about 3 hours away. Thing looked almost factory fresh. I am in the process of welding on frame plates. By the time I am done with the cost of strengthening the plates (time & money) I should have just bought a TDK. I could have also gotten the hybrid frame with TJ suspension. Really wish I had gone that route. I will have to save that for a future project.

So, in short, I would get a TDK and not think twice about it. Best bang for the buck. (Not cheap though)

rubclt

BENEFACTOR
Gold Member
Lifetime Member
SOA Member
City
Charlotte
State
NC