• Notice for iPhone users: DO NOT use the image size reduction option when uploading photos to the forum. This causes portrait images to post as landscape. We have added a warning to the image insert pop-up as well.

lifting

Brent

Legacy Registered User
City
Canyon Lake
State
TX
Hey Guys, I'm looking to lift my scrambler some and need some advise. I see the recent post advising with the three inch lift with either spring-over, body or suspension lift and having a hard time deciding which would be better for me. Currently I have 31" tires and would like to go to a 33". My Scrambler is an everyday driver, so I got to make sure I get it right. I do like to go off roading and would like some more clearance when doing so, just dont want to give up too much fuel mileage and money! I hear the spring over lift can be risky for breaking while off roading? I also hear the body lift is a waste of money. What's the best?

motojosh

Basic User
City
Missoula
State
MT
I'm new to Jeeps, so my :twocents: is worth exactly that . . . but from reading here and on other Jeep forums, the spring over axle (SOA) seems to be overrated, unless you're doing hard-core rock-crawling. It does free up some space, but not a whole lot, and introduces a whole set of problems, including the need to redo some of the steering components, and axle wrap (or spring wrap):

springwrapJPG-1.jpg

(Pic from http://www.dehesa4x4.com/osburn/tech/soa.htm.)

Conventional wisdom here is that 1" is about as high as you'll want to go on the body lift. According to JP Magazine, you should be able to fit 33" tires with either a 4" suspension lift, or a 2" suspension lift and a 1" body lift.

154_0807_05_zupdated_jeep_tire_fitment_g-1.jpg

(Pic from http://www.jpmagazine.com/techarticles/wheels/154_0807_updated_jeep_tire_fitment_guide/photo_03.html)