wm69

Scrambler Junkie
LIFETIME
CJ-8.com Member
City
God's Country
State
AR
Keep in mind that I've been running these Superiors since 1998, but I had someone else install them for me, so this is the first time I've really dug into an axle.

Put a lunchbox (Powertrax no-slip) in my extra AMC20 that I plan on swapping into the Scrambler probably next spring.

Trying to get the entire axle ready to bolt in bofore I put it up for the winter.

It has Superior axles in it, which were problem free when I pulled them to get the locker in. Locker is now in place, and I need to reinstall the axles.

I'm going to grease the bearings as best I can with a needle, but I need to reseal with blue RTV.

I'm guessing I need to pull all the brake hardward and get between the outer plate and the backing plate the best I can with the RTV? Kinda hard to get up in there, and I'm wondering if I'm missing something since looks like any time the axles are pulled you'd have the same steps to do to reinstall.

Attachments

wm69

Scrambler Junkie
LIFETIME
CJ-8.com Member
City
God's Country
State
AR
See first pic. How the heck does one CLEAN that area to get blue RTV in there to seal the plate to the backing plate?

spankrjs

Scrambler Junkie
LIFETIME
CJ-8.com Member
City
Biloxi
State
MS
Without removing the bearing, not going to be able to really do a good job cleaning/sealing:twocents:

wm69

Scrambler Junkie
LIFETIME
CJ-8.com Member
City
God's Country
State
AR
Ahhhhh, crap. And I don't have a press.

So much for this being a quick and easy job.

wm69

Scrambler Junkie
LIFETIME
CJ-8.com Member
City
God's Country
State
AR
Ran into more issues today. I managed to get an axle cleaned up well enough to try to reinstall it. When I went to put it back in the differential it wouldn't slide in far enough. I managed to pull it up using the four bolts on the backing plate, but if I tighten them up, the axle won't spin. If I loosen the bolts up a bit it spins fine.