New to me 84' Scrambler

City
Raleigh
State
NC
To follow up on a thread I posted in another section, it looks like I'm going to look at this Scrambler on Sunday, with the intention of purchasing. I have basic mechanical/engine knowledge, but have been out the Jeep game for almost 10 years. After I get this beauty home, what are the first things you guys would check for needing service?

A little background about my mechanical "knowledge"... Owned and build a 99tj in college and sold it in 09'. Swapped an 8.8 and did a 4 link from scratch. I kind of did everything half ass'd back then and I want to do the right thing with this jeep, as it will be mine for what I hope for a long time. Thank you all for the input and advice.

Attachments

walkerhoundvm

Just trying to stay upright
LIFETIME
CJ-8.com Member
City
Cave Creek
State
AZ
It may have been mentioned in the other thread, but basically start replacing all fluids. Never assume that a PO has done it recently or that there are enough fluids to start with - engine, transmission, differential housing, blinker fluids, all of them. Learn what fluids you want to use, and how much - write them down somewhere so you don't have to look it up next time.

Next, look at all the moving parts for wear and proper lubrication. Lift the Jeep up front, wiggle the wheels and see what happens. Look at all the steering components, the leaf springs, the drive shafts, etc.

Drive it around for a good while to see if there are any issues with smoke, stalling, weird noises, misses, etc. How does it shift, smoothly? Does it pop out of gear at all?