• Notice for iPhone users: DO NOT use the image size reduction option when uploading photos to the forum. This causes portrait images to post as landscape. We have added a warning to the image insert pop-up as well.

Radiator fan clearance

trent234

Legacy Registered User
City
Portland
State
OR
Hey guys, first let me say I'm new to most of this so bear with me. so I'm faced with a radiator fan issue. I'm currently running without a radiator fan, and I'm looking to change that. The problem is, there is very little room for a fan to be mounted.

IMG_3529JPG-1.jpg

As you can see its tight. Most fans won't fit, but few sites give width dimensions of their fans anyway. I was thinking the stock fan would be the smallest, I found an OEM replacement here-

http://www.quadratec.com/products/51203_01.htm

Would that do the trick? Will that even fit?

I'm running a 258, not sure of the radiator specs although I know its made for a V8.. hence a space issue.

I'm just brainstorming at the moment, any ideas are welcome. Thanks!

-Trent

bigwalton

Alaskan Postal nutjob
FORUM MANAGER
SOA Member
City
Dexter
State
MI
Looks like an aftermarket radiator to me maybe? Sure looks like a 258. I don't know these measurements off hand, but the trick with a stock fan is having enough room between the backside and the belts. You'll need to find the minimum spacer length and then see from there about squeezing in the fan. Doesn't look like a stocker is going to work to my eye if you allow enough clearance with the radiator.

If you let us know the whole setup, that would help. If you can ID the radiator or take pics of it for us to see. I'm guessing this is a thicker radiator or it's not offset enough into the grille.

Randyzzz

Blown Budget
BENEFACTOR
Gold Member
Lifetime Member
SOA Member
City
Redmond
State
OR