RispoNY's Scrambler Build Thread - The 'Kit' Scrambler w/ Postal Top (PIC HEAVY)

rispony

Scramblin' in the City
LIFETIME
CJ-8.com Member
City
Manhattan
State
NY
Hey guys, I've decided to finally create a build thread on my 82 that I purchased this August from Texas. It's been in slightly in the works since then but now I'm fully underway so it was time to start chronicling the build! I'm relatively new to the whole Jeep game as I only purchased my first scrambler in October of 2012 whilst I was in school down in Florida. That jeep has became my daily driver and I did a cosmetic restoration to it while I attended college. Then this summer, I saw an ebay ad for a fully disassembled 82 that was in the process of restoration before the PO got tired and sold it. The price was absolutely unbeatable so I jumped on it. Here is my road-trip thread in case anyone missed it:

http://www.cj-8.com/forum/showthrea...k-up-an-82-Collins-Bros-Postal-Top&highlight=

My daily driver is a 4cyl 81 with a 2.5" lift, 32x11.50's and that's about it. Nothing crazy and it runs great with only about 51k miles on it. On that restoration, I created a blog for it for my friends and family to see. This time I'm going to fill you guys in step by step! Here is a pic of my DD and in my signature you can find the blog in case your interested..

On this "new" scrambler I'd like to spice things up a bit. I picked up an AMC 360 down in florida for $100 before I left in June and planned to put it in the 81 but now that I have the 82, it's going to go in there. Plus, I actually really love my little 4 banger. The engine just got completed last week so the rebuild is going to commence this weekend. I'm aiming for wild rather than mild. Other things include a 4-4.5" BDS lift and hopefully fit it to 35"s. Winch is a definite, I just have to decide which one. Stinger in front, swing out tire-carrier in rear, still deciding which brand. So much racing through my head but there is a lot lot more. Stay tuned.