• Notice for iPhone users: DO NOT use the image size reduction option when uploading photos to the forum. This causes portrait images to post as landscape. We have added a warning to the image insert pop-up as well.

Stupid wiper switch...

jsteed

CJ-8 Member
City
Seattle
State
WA
Ok. I get it, I'm not a mechanic. Or an engineer. But how in the world does this friggin' switch come out of the dash?!?! Mine has been so loose, that now if I turn the wipers on, it just spins the switch, which is of little help when it's raining. The chrome bezel spins, (but wont come off, despite prying) and there does not appear to be a nut underneath to tighten.

I miss my CJ2 where things were just bolted to the dash instead of being "standard-nut-torx-metric-welded-glue-riveted-soldered"

AMC is on my poopy list right now!

Last edited:

Jeep Addict

Scrambler Junkie
Lifetime Member
City
Baton Rouge
State
La
There should be a little nut recessed inside the bezel to tighten the switch to the dash

Spieg

Scrambler Junkie
Lifetime Member
City
Aurora
State
CO
Been a while but IIRC there is a tab on the bottom of the wiper knob that needs to be depressed to get the knob off, then there is like a small nut inside the bezel that needs to be unscrewed (there is a slot in the nut that is where you can use a small flat screwdriver to turn the nut)

barrys

Scrambler Junkie
Lifetime Member
City
East Norriton
State
PA
Been a while but IIRC there is a tab on the bottom of the wiper knob that needs to be depressed to get the knob off, then there is like a small nut inside the bezel that needs to be unscrewed (there is a slot in the nut that is where you can use a small flat screwdriver to turn the nut)
This sounds like the light switch.

jsteed

CJ-8 Member
City
Seattle
State
WA
The damned nut was installed backwards, no wonder I couldn't get it off (the two slots were toward the dash). I thought I was losing my mind!

UGH. Well, its off. I guess I can't blame AMC. Another PO blame!

J

Spieg